

MEDICAL RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE COMPOSITION UNIVERSITY MALAYA MEDICAL CENTRE SESSION 2019 - 2021

Member (Title and Name)	Occupation (Designation)	Male/Female (M/F)
Chairperson: Ybhg. Datuk Prof. Ulung Dr. Looi Lai Meng	Clinical Academic Staff (Distinguished Professor) Department of Pathology	Female
Deputy Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Ng Chirk Jenn	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Primary Care Medicine	Male
Secretary (non-voting): Dr. Phang Kean Chang	Manager (Secretary), Medical Research Ethics Committee, Deputy Dean (Research) Office, Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya	Male
Assistant Secretary (non-voting): Puan Rosmawati Bontak	Staff Nurse University Malaya Medical Centre	Female
Assistant Secretary (non-voting): Ms. Grazele Jenarun	Project Manager	Female
Secretariat (non-voting): Encik Mohd Izanie Che Yusoff	Administrative Assistant University Malaya Medical Centre	Male
Members: 1. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nazirah Hasnan	Deputy Director (Clinical) Representative of UMMC Director	Female
2. Prof. Dr. Chin Ai- Vyrn	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Medicine	Male
3. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ng Chong Guan	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Psychological Medicine	Male
4. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nor Faizal Ahmad Bahuri	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Surgery	Male
5. Prof. Dr. Hany Ariffin	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Paediatrics	Female
6. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kiew Lik Voon	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Pharmacology Faculty of Medicine, UM	Male
7. Prof. Dr. Sanjay Rampal Lekhraj Rampal	Statistician Department of Social & Preventive Medicine Faculty of Medicine, UM	Male
8. Ms. Wong Yin Yen	Representative of Head Department of Pharmacy University Malaya Medical Centre	Female



9. Ybhg. Datin Assoc. Prof. Dr. Grace Xavier	Representative of Dean Faculty of Law, University Malaya	Female
10. Ybhg. Datuk Mumtaz Ali M. Abdul Kareem	Public Representative	Male
11. Ybhg. Dato Kalsom binti Abd. Rahman	Public Representative	Female
12. Mr. Loe Tuck Yen	Public Representative	Male

Commen ts:

The MREC of University Malaya Medical Centre is operating according to ICH-GCP guidelines and the Declaration of Helsinki. No. 9 is a representative from Faculty of Law, University Malaya and No. 10, 11 & 12 are public representatives. No. 9, 10, 11 & 12 are independent of the hospital or trial site.