

MEDICAL RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE COMPOSITION UNIVERSITY MALAYA MEDICAL CENTRE SESSION 2023-2025

Member (Title and Name)	Occupation (Designation)	Male/Female (M/F)
Chairperson: Ybhg. Datuk Prof. Ulung Dr. Looi Lai Meng	Clinical Academic Staff (Distinguished Professor) Department of Pathology	Female
Deputy Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Nik Sherina Haidi Hanafi	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Primary Care Medicine	Female
Secretary (non voting): Dr. Phang Kean Chang	Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya	Male
Assistant Secretary (non voting): Puan Rosmawati Bontak	Staff Nurse University Malaya Medical Centre	Female
Assistant Secretary (non voting): Ms. Grazele Jenarun	Administrative Officer	Female
Ms. Siti Najihah Saidin	Administrative Officer	Female
Ms. Sharifah Fatimah Az-Zahra Syed Suleiman	Administrative Officer	Female
Secretariat (non-voting): Mohd Razi Saidin	Administrative Assistant University Malaya Medical Centre	Male
Members: 1. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azura Mansor	Deputy Director Clinical (Surgical)	Female
2. Prof. Dr. Chin Ai- Vyrn	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Medicine	Male
3. Prof. Dr. Ng Chong Guan	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Psychological Medicine	Male
4. Prof. Dr. Dharmendra Ganesan	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Surgery	Male
5. Prof. Dr. Fong Choong Yi	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Paediatrics	Male
6. Prof. Dr. Kiew Lik Voon	Clinical Academic Staff Department of Pharmacology Faculty of Medicine, UM	Male



7. Prof. Dr. Sanjay Rampal Lekhraj Rampal	Statistician Department of Social & Preventive Medicine Faculty of Medicine, UM	Male
8. Ms. Wong Yin Yen	Representative of Head Department of Pharmacy University Malaya Medical Centre	Female
9. Prof. Madya Dr Sharon Kaur Gurmukh Singh	Representative of Dean Faculty of Law, University Malaya	Female
10. Ybhg. Datin Grace Xavier	Public Representative	Female
11. YBhg. Datuk Mumtaz Ali M.Abdul Kareem	Public Representative	Male
12. YBhg. Dato Kalsom binti Abd. Rahman	Public Representative	Female
13. Mr. Loe Tuck Yen	Public Representative	Male
14. Mr. Ng Swee Weng	Public Representative	Male

Comments: The MREC of University Malaya Medical Centre is operating according to ICH- GCP guidelines and the Declaration of Helsinki. No. 9 is a representative from Faculty of Law, University Malaya and No. 10, 11, 12, 3, and 14 are public representatives. No. 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 are independent of the hospital or trial site.